Introduction to Systems Development Lifecycle

6 Feb

The System Development Lifecycle (SDLC) is the method of altering software systems, models and methodologies that people use to develop these systems. SDLC is a series of phases that provide a model for the development and lifecycle management of an application or piece of software. It is used to develop, maintain and substitute information systems.

Winston Boyce considered SDLC as an aid to programming, with two stages of analysis and coding in 1970. Further to this, Dr. Barry Boehm listed a number of the main phases of software development in 1974.

There are five stages involved in SDLC:



I will discuss these phases furthermore next week.




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: