Trends in I.S-Its use in G.I.S

8 Feb

I discussed in my previous blog the use of information systems across numerous industries and sectors. I gave a brief description of its use in the Health sector e.g PDMS, HIS and CIS,  the Banking and Finance sector e.g Riskompass and data mining and  across the geographic sector through the effective GIS. In each blog I will focus on a specific sector and how information systems are used within that sector. For this blog I will focus on information systems used in the Geographical sector, which is quite a surprising and different industry. As discussed in my previous blog  the system used is called a G.I.S. and like all information systems it consists of hardware software and data which can be analyzed, managed and interpreted   Patterns are then reveal through the means of maps,charts, graphs etc. For example maps of earthquake shaking hazards which is used to update building codes as seen in the map below:

                  Maps of earthquake shaking hazards are used to create and update building codes in the U.S.

Map of earthquake shaking hazards to update building codes.

There are also many benefits of G.I.S for example it can increase efficiency and save costs and there is an estimated 10-30% saved through the use of this system. G.I.S also helps greatly with decisions e.g real estate site selection, evacuation site selection and natural resource extraction.e.g Taiwan uses a G.I.S based disaster decision support system to plan for and respond to Typhoons. It also helps to manage geographically which involves understanding what is happening and will happen in geographic space. e.g Kuwait University uses G.I.S to build a multibillion dollar expansion :

_____

To read more on the Kuwait Univeristity case visit :http://www.esri.com/news/arcnews/fall11articles/building-smart-from-the-ground-up.html and for more general information on G.I.S visit: http://www.esri.com/

One Response to “Trends in I.S-Its use in G.I.S”

  1. sad111452022 February 17, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

    Really interesting blog..especially the way you focus on one specific area and exactly how they use it🙂

Leave a Reply

