Systems Development Lifecycle (SDLC) in IS:

18 Feb


Today I will begin by briefly describing what an SDLC is.
The systems development life cycle (SDLC) is a conceptual model used in project management that describes the stages involved in an information system development project, from an initial feasibility study through maintenance of the completed application.

Various SDLC methodologies have been developed to guide the processes involved, including the waterfall model (which was the original SDLC method); rapid application development (RAD); joint application development (JAD); the fountain model and the spiral model;

The whole process is divided into a series of phases and a specific task is carried out during each of these steps.

  1. Planning
  2. Analysis
  3. Design
  4. Implementation
  5. Maintenance


SDLC was created by Winston Boyce as an aid to programming 1970. Further to this, Dr. Barry Boehm listed a number of the main phases of software development in 1974.

The following video briefly describes the stages of SDLC:

In my next blog I will discuss each phase of SDLC separately.
Thanks for reading! 🙂



2 Responses to “Systems Development Lifecycle (SDLC) in IS:”

  1. sad111319021 February 25, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    Very well laid out and good, relevant information. YouTube video is a very good way of getting the information across.

  2. sad111456588 February 28, 2013 at 9:15 pm #

    good intro to SDLC and very good links provided!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: