Using IS for Decision Making – Decision Making Levels of an Organisation

19 Feb

In my previous post ( I discussed the three types of decisions, and have previously blogged about the stages in decision making.

In this blog I will dicuss the three decision-making levels of an organisation, as it is important to understand the responsibilities that each level has when discussing the decisions they must consider.

The three decision-making levels in an organisation are:

  • Operational Level
  • Managerial Level
  • Executive Level


Operational Level – These are the foremen and supervisiors, who use IS to automate routine and repetitive activities and events, in order to improve organisational efficiency.

Managerial Level – Midlevel managers and functional managers need IS to automate the monitoring and controlling of operational activites. This is done to improve organisational effectiveness.

Executive Level – The top level is the Executive/Strategic Level. Here, Executive level managers aggregate summaries of past organisational data and projections of the future, to improve organisational strategy and planning.



One Response to “Using IS for Decision Making – Decision Making Levels of an Organisation”

  1. sad111417672 February 21, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

    v.clear 🙂

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: