Developing I.S: Development Life Cycle

21 Feb

I’ll be discussing one particular development of Information Systems: The System Development Life Cycle (SDLC).

It is said it can be seen as a very methodological and structural way of developing I.S. It’s used to develop,maintain and replace I.S. It was first developed in 1970 and has been progressing since. Generally consisting of 5 phases: 1.Planning, 2. Analysis, 3. Design, 4. Implementation and 5. Maintenance.

Companies choose SDLC for a number of reasons, some being:

  • To help improve existing systems.
  • To correct problems with existing systems.
  • To gain competitive advantage.
  • It helps to reduce failures (unclear requests etc.)
  • Reducing the possibility of system not meeting users needs.

These are to name but a few.

Here is a diagram I found which might make the stages clearer, although this particular image shows it to be a 10 stage process, the 5 stages we have studied in class are laid out in a clear manner which some of you may like to look at.

Blog again soon.

Sources :


One Response to “Developing I.S: Development Life Cycle”

  1. Computer-Information-Systems February 22, 2013 at 4:31 am #

    Reblogged this on Information-Systems and commented:
    interesting take

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: