Levels of Failure in I.S.

7 Mar

The level at which failure occurs depends on how how each individual party decides how much the failure has actually affected them in terms of competitively, financially etc. It has been proposed to have three levels of failure in I.S. These levels are as follows; level 1 is minor failure, level 2 is major and level 3 is critical.

  • Level 1 failure is considered to be to be minor because as the IS project still meets its objectives and completed.
  • Level 2 failure is considered to be major because it doesn’t meet all its requirements and its gone over its budget and time. But even with all these things occurring, the solution can still be workable.
  • Level 3 is critical failure as the project does not meet any of its requirements or aims and the likelihood the project will be abandoned due to it running over its budget and over time.

These levels are cumulative so therefore level 3 cannot occur without level 1 and 2 occurring! The project team should always know where the IS is falling down and they should be enthusiastic about changing the environment which has led them to level 1 failure! If and when the failure slides into the bracket of level 2 failure, the project team need to be aware that the project has a strong chance of being cancelled due to its major difficulties, and therefore sliding into level 3 failure!

These are just some more examples of the different problems that occur at each level:

Level 1:

  • Poor Estimates
  • Profitability
  • Lack of Resources, Organisation, usability and features etc.
  • Unproven Technology
  • Transparency in IS projects
  • Progress Meetings

Level 2:

  • Lack of planning, user involvement, commitment, resources etc.
  • Goals not being achieved.
  • Complex solutions.
  • Unrealistic expectations.
  • overrun of schedule and budget.
  • Poor leadership and management.

Level 3:

  • Abandoned before being completed.
  • Vendor’s inability to meet requirements.
  • Client consultation during development stage.



3 Responses to “Levels of Failure in I.S.”

  1. sad111708665 March 8, 2013 at 12:24 am #

    your blog was good….helpful to know this information!

  2. sad111530323 March 8, 2013 at 10:14 am #

    Very good blog, could be very helpful for the exam!!

  3. sad111413042 March 9, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

    Didn’t know there were so many different layers to failure.. I just always thought there was only 1! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: